Whatever next?

Like finding campers in your garden
or molehills on your lawn,
how must dainty Orchid feel
surrounded by such spawn?


"Well, I'll go to the foot of our stairs!" as they say. (Though it would be difficult for me as I live in a bungalow.) What do you make of this?

Back in March 2015, I bought an orchid from Sainsbury's. I ignored the label's advice to 'discard after flowering' and let it sleep over the summer. Then I repotted it in orchid compost and, sure enough, it flowered again in spring this year.

Again, I've let it sleep through the summer, and recently repotted it. I used the same orchid compost. (The compost has been kept dry in an outdoor plastic storage cupboard, and fastened tightly at the folded-over top with a clip.)

For a few weeks now, it's the orchid has been sitting on a window sill, happily branching out its aerial roots, looking all set for further flowering next spring. But today - LOOK what I found growing in its pot: two tiny toadstools! I've never experienced fungi growing in an indoor plant pot before. I can only suppose that either fungi sprores have penetrated our storage unit or they've wafted indoors through the window.

They look so sweet, I'm tempted to leave them there. But - would that be to the detriment of the orchid? Any helpful comments gratefully received!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.