Rainbows over Campbeltown Loch

10.1C with sunny spells and squally showers. Clearing late afternoon. Nice sunset over Gallow Hill. Wind WNW/NW to 24 mph with gusts to 34 mph.

After lunch, in a dry spell, Maeve the Deerhound and I went for the repeat of our usual morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town. The cargo ship FRI KVAM was at the new quay waiting to unload wind turbine blades. One mobile crane was parked alongside on the quay.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for a walk. Jethro Tull (Broadsword and the Beast) then Runrig (The Story) on the Clip. I went round by Aquilibrium and past the harbour and the ferry terminal and along the shore path in the long narrow park then on out Kilkerran road. As I reached the cemetery a heavy shower arrived so I waited in the shelter of a tall garden wall (where I got the rainbow shot across the loch) until it had gone over. I was glad I had gone out at least this far to see the snow on the tops of the hills on Arran. I decided to head back rather than be miles out of town when another shower came.

When I got back to the harbour I decided I wanted to walk some more so I went round the Esplanade then out Low Askomill along the side of the loch you can see in the photo to the old shipyard. As I walked along I watched a fishing boat head out of the loch. Another shower came along. This time there was no handy shelter, so I just put up my hood and turned my back to the direction of the breeze looked at the view through the rain and waited until it had gone over. I had my lined waterproof trousers and rain jacket on so I was ok other than my feet which got wet as my now well worn walking shoes let in water. I really should get my other walking shoes or my boots out of the car !

On the way back I walked round the esplanade and went shopping for an LED light bulb for our new floor lamp which arrived this morning and which is now set up and ready to go in the hall. It will provide a much subtler light than the ceiling spotlights which light up the hall like a runway.

Afternoon music ... Dusty Springfield, Complete A And B Sides 1963 - 1970.

DMC-LX7 f/2.8 1/800 sec. ISO-80 5mm (35mm focal length 24mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.