M107 HMS Pembroke

10.2C dull and grey. Wind S/SSE to 24 mph with gusts to 34 mph. Wind forecast to increase and accompany a spell of several hours of heavy rain through the evening. At 4 pm the wind was reported as 38 mph with gusts to 51 mph.

From the local fish shop this morning one piece of Salmon quiche, two Salmon fishcakes for the price of one,  and one Salmon (fresh, smoked, and roast) Scotch Egg.

After lunch Maeve and I went for the repeat of our usual morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town. The harbour was busy today. The cargo ship FRI KVAM was still at the new quay. The wind turbine blades had been offloaded. Two mobile cranes were parked alongside. At the old quay lots of fishing boats were tied up and several fish farm work boats were there too. I assume with the forecast in mind.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I got my car and drove along to the little car park by the milestone on the Kilkerran road which is marked with one mile to Campbeltown. Eagles (Hell Freezes Over then Hotel California) on the Clip. M107 HMS Pembroke, a Sandown-class minehunter, was in Campbeltown loch near the NATO fuelling jetty. From there I walked out Kilkerran road past the 68 mile marker on the Kintyre Way then the Goldsmith's house and studio to the NATO jetty at Glenramskill and the Doirlinn and along the road past Davaar House then round Kildalloig Bay until I reached the 70 mile marker out towards New Orleans. The wind was really noticeable once I went round past Davaar House. I could see a naval vessel out at sea. There were very few seabirds along the shore today.

When I checked the AIS website to get M107's name and details I saw that M39 HMS Hurworth, a Hunt-class mine countermeasures vessel, had joined M107 in the loch. I did go upstairs before 5pm to try to see if I could see her but the weather had closed in by then and I couldn't see across the loch. I have to assume this was the naval vessel I saw out at sea beyond Davaar island.

Afternoon music ... The Commitments, Soundtrack. Status Quo, Live.

DMC-LX7 f/2.8 1/640 sec. ISO-80 8mm (35mm focal length 43mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.