creative lenna

By creativelenna

wind turbines

In 2009 the wind turbines were in production on wolfe island, after about a year or so of installation. 2009 was the last year Steven and I were here but I am still not used to seeing these additions to the landscape. They look like something out of "The War of the Worlds" as my friend Jewels said -and it's true!

I have used Photoshop to layer together a couple of photos I took when we motored around Horseshoe Island yesterday, looking towards Wolfe Island. The layer of the large turbine that says "Canadian Hydro" was a close up I took with my 30x optical zoom lens. These wind turbines are 80 meters or about 250 ft high -They are HUGE!

There are 86 wind turbines installed on the island and a brochure I found in the cottage says this instalation is called the Wolfe Island EcoPower Center. It was noted to be the second largest wind installation in Canada. Participating land owners receive supplementary income from having wind turbines installed on their land. I have often seen cattle grazing underneath the turbines! The wind power is not used directly on the island but shipped to the Canadian power grid. My husband is not a huge fan of this technology, he wonders how green it really is. He has heard the turbines are a huge killer of migratory birds . . . I guess I am reserving judgement for now, waiting for more information.

86 wind turbines are a very strange sight on wolfe island.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.