Braid Hills

This morning Ann watched 'Jeremy Kyle' caught up on 'East Enders', 'Coronation Street' and 'The Apprentice' so by lunchtime we'd both just spent the whole morning slobbing about. Ann said, 'Molly, I can't believe that I've spent the whole morning watching TV. Why did you not make me get up and do something?' Well, how am I supposed to make her get up and do something. She's always telling me that she's the boss and I have to do what she says!

Anyway because she felt so guilty about watching TV all morning she said that she would take me for an extra long walk this afternoon so off we went to the Braid Hills. It's fabulous up on the Braid Hills. You can see all over Edinburgh. The views are amazing. We walked all the way round the perimeter of the golf course and then we walked home through the Hermitage of Braid and I got to do some splish, splash, sploshing in the burn. Yay!

The trouble with Edinburgh is............................ If I'm having a 2 hour afternoon walk I have to go out at about 1pm because by 3pm it's starting to get dark. This afternoon we got home 3.10pm and we had to put the lights on in the house. Also when we lived in St Ives Ann had no worries about taking me for my walk along the beach in fading light, but in Edinburgh she wouldn't even dream of taking me anywhere other than well lit streets, in the dark.

I think almost 20 years of living in Cornwall has turned Ann from a confident, city girl, into a nervous wreck someone who sees danger everywhere. Or maybe that's just old age?  Ie, her new job at the rugby club is lovely. But.................... she's probably going to have to do 'lock up' one night a week. 20 years ago that wouldn't have phased her?!! Now she thinks that someone is going to hide in the toilets until they know she's alone and then they'll jump out and murder her?? She's thinking of asking if I can go to work with her on that night. The very lovely 20ish old girl who showed her the lock up procedure the other night didn't seem scared at all. What it is to be young!

Anyway my 2hr walk up the Braid Hills made me very hungry so I asked for early dinner. Gobbled all that up and then I asked for more. Now I'm snoozing in my bed.

….............And Ann's going to make a chicken curry and then will probably spend the whole evening watching TV?!

#whatrockandrollliveswelive

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.