Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Who was Harriet Martineau?

From today's post show discussion, I gather that my American friends are usually better able to answer this question than we Brits, despite the fact that Harriet Martineau was English.  She was an anti-slavery writer and social theorist who lived from 1802 - 1876. She was able to support herself financially from her writing.  More details here and here.

I took Mum to Newcastle for a day out. We had an excellent lunch in Cafe Vivo,  before the play, Harriet Martineau Dreams of Dancing, at the Live Theatre next door.

We loved the play, which was followed by a post show discussion with the author, Shelagh Stephenson. This was one of the best post show discussions I've ever been to. Not only were there members of the Martineau Society in the audience, plus descendents of Harriet and also the woman who currently owns the Harrient Martineau B & B in Tynemouth!! (It's the house she stayed in for 5 years as an invalid until she was cured by mesmerism, but don't let this fact detract from your view of her.)

The discussion was informed and interesting. The play was very funny, but the hard hitting truths came through loud and clear.

Before the play, I saw this young woman waiting on the corner of Broad Chare and I asked if I could photograph her. I thought she had gone to a lot of trouble about her appearance. I've seen the adverts for heavy eyebrows recently, but have not seen anyone who has used them. They are striking. Ella Mae was delightful and I was glad I stopped to speak to her.

All in all it was a great day out and I've booked us another play from next month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.