Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Papa Meilland - a very special rose

On Wednesday evening I collected Margret (next door) and Claire from the station after their holiday in Egypt. We took Claire home first to her house in Hexham.

On Thursday she appeared with a bunch of dahlias from her garden for me and this rose for Mum. The bud was tight and black. I did all the things you should and crossed my fingers hard. Roses have a habit of keeling over in this house before the buds open.

When I saw the progress it had made today, I knew that I must blip it. Technically it was very difficult. Being red meant that the red was quickly overexposed. The fragrance is wonderful.

I'm busy packing. I also needed to update Photoshop CC to 2017 on my laptop. I spent ages and had to uninstall and then reinstall Adobe CC before it would work. Now I have to sort out the Nik plugins which have disappeared with the update. Sigh.

In other village news, we have the mystery of Margret's missing dustbin. Two weeks ago I went to take her rubbish bin up to the house, but it had gone. I assumed that someone else had taken it up the drive, because it was the next day. Last Monday I went to take the recycling bin to the gate and discovered that the rubbish bin was missing. Then I spotted a rubbish bin sitting amongst a few recycling bins on the other side of the road. It had LC painted on and Margret lives at Linden Cottage, so I thought I had solved the mystery.

No, Margret's bin had no letters painted on and what's more, this bin had the lid from a takeaway in it. Oh dear. I had to confess that I had somehow lost the bin. Tomorrow we shall look with interest to see if any more funny business goes on............or will the bin come home??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.