Cease and Desist!

I was coming back from a series of photo lectures (FotoWeekDC started today) and decided to drive by the new Trump tower to check out the protesters there. Nothing much happening: just a few lone souls with placards. 

But just a block away, there is a plaza (Freedom Plaza) where skaters congregate in large numbers and do their tricks. I thought it might be a good idea to photograph them instead.

Just as our car pulled up along the plaza, police cars with sirens blaring come up to the plaza from 3 directions and cops jumped out. Skaters scattered in all directions. I didn't quite know what was going on, but I jumped out of the car as well, only to realize I'd left my camera in there (what kind of a photographer am I???). Apparently, skating isn't allowed on Freedom Plaza (ironic, non?)

So here's the aftermath of all the action, captured on my cell phone: a lone (and unfortunate) skater was wrestled to the ground, handcuffed and later taken into custody when he (unfortunately again) attempted to get up all the while saying "I was just skating, man!"  And it's not even January 20 yet...

Many thanks to all for your warm thoughts yesterday :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.