Woohoo - We made it!!

This moment has been a long time in the making and I'm so happy to be able to post this blip today.  Well it took us exactly 50 minutes and 34 seconds and honestly, I didn't care if it took Deb and I all day.  The important thing is, WE MADE IT TO THE 88TH FLOOR OF THE EUREKA TOWER!!

I feel incredibly emotional writing this journal today.  Interplast means so much to CCN and I.  We have been journeying with the organisation for 7 years now and we are SO inspired by the incredible work that they do. 

We have had such wonderful support from our families, friends, blip buddies and the Blue Mountains Community.  Where else could you pack 40 people into a coffee shop and raise close to $3,000 in just over one hour!!  At this stage we are still leading the Teams Fundraising Challenge with $8,148.  We can't thank you all enough for your generous support of the "Step Sisters".  

I have added some extra photos that will give you a little bit of an idea at how excited we were this morning.  Not only to start the climb, but to finish the climb.  I particularly like the one that I've posted with the Aviation Emergency team who were about to climb the tower in full rig!!  

It was fantastic to give Paula Banks our overseas Stepsister a call at the end of the climb to thank her for being on our journey for two years now, through thick and thin.  Never wavering in her support and even at the final hour sending messages with instructions on how to survive :-) It was wonderful to share the moment with you my friend.

We are going to celebrate tonight and will have dinner with our great mate Debbie Shiell.  Honestly, without her today, I'm not sure how I would have gone on the last twenty floors.  Suffice to say, I have just a sense of how it feels to "Hit the Wall" in a marathon.  I'm sure a lot of the climbers felt a lot better when they saw me lying on the floor recovering after feeling a bit wobbly in the head.  A very slight drawback, but I knew my friend would carry me to the top if it came to it.  Fortunately my legs never let me down once and happily I can report that it wasn't necessary for Deb to spring into action!!

I'm bursting with pride and want to thank to all of my blip buddies for your amazing encouragement over the last few weeks and months.  You are the most incredibly warm hearted community and we could teach the world a lot I reckon.  Now I'm off to have a well earned ice-cream :-) Not even Paula will mind me doing that!!

God bless my blip buddies!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.