One hand good, two hands better...

As usual there was a wonderful Remembrance Day Parade along the main street near where we live so I went out to pay my respects to those wonderful folk who made the ultimate sacrifice to give us peace. It does us no harm to stop and reflect on the horrors of war, especially in the unstable world we live in at the moment.

As a true blipper I took my camera out with me to record the occasion. The smart, dignified young man in the photo generally leads the parade and this year was no different. One can't be serious all the time however: I'm sure those brave young men wouldn't have wanted us to be, and when I got home and looked at my photos on the computer I noticed that he seemed to have grown an extra right hand! It gives new meaning to the term "Double Salute" - I was sure he had only one right hand last year and my blip from then (see here) confirms it...he seems to be an RAF man so maybe it helps when flying a plane?

A large gathering of marchers followed him, including all the local uniformed organisations - Scouts, Guides etc. I got some lovely candid photos of some of the children: there's a small collection of the best photos on flickr here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.