It is all about the tail!

Dear Diary,

I think squirrel's tails are a lot like fingerprints.  Each one is unique.  Gaylord's tail is especially thick and luxurious.  It is one of the ways I tell him apart from Squirrel Nutkin and any other squirrel that might wander by.  There are other traits but, frankly, for me, it is all about the tail!

Here Gaylord is stretching up to survey his domain being sure I catch his best side...his tail!  He is so expressive with it too, flicking it when he is agitated and curling it up his back in the cold weather.

I have always had a great affinity for St. Francis who saw each creature no matter how small as a soulmate.  I simply cannot understand people who are abusive to animals.  I think you can tell a lot about the soul of a person by the way he treats those who can do no good for him.  I was always taught to treat all animals with kindness, they all have a role to play in the world and deserve our respect.

So, I will be off this morning to buy more seed, suet cakes and peanuts for my little neighbors.  It is the least I can do for all the joy the give me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.