It's the little things..

Dear Diary,

Outside my sitting room window the bush is devoid of most of its leaves and the tiny berries stand out beautifully against the background.  I wanted to just enjoy this little scene, so simple and yet so complex.  I find it is in contemplating the little things that great pleasure can be had.

It is a reinforcement of the strength and continuity of the natural world, where all things live in a harmonious unity if left to themselves.  But man has a nasty habit of interfering with the delicate balance which brings me great grief. 

As the days grow shorter, I find the need to retreat and gather round me all that is good and pure.  My little chipmunks will soon be retiring for the winter months too, their larders filled to overflowing with sunflower seeds.  We support each other in so many ways and I find great solace in that feeling.

David will come later this morning to finish the wood and Matt will come on Thursday for the last few chores then all will be ready for the first snowfall.  It is a quiet time of anticipation and I relish the thought of the quite solitude that winter brings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.