Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Low key roses

I had plans to go out to take some photos today but it was such a miserable kind of day, grey with a soft drizzle that I decided against it. I caught up on all my admin - booked one car in for a service and MOT and then realised that when the other car which was serviced a few weeks ago I had forgotten to request an MOT at the same time. As it is due by the end of the month I had a bit of a scramble to find a dealership who could do it asap, and as a result I have to spend Wednesday morning sitting at the garage for 2 hours while they do it.

Last night the singing concert at Thomas' school was very entertaining. As I have previously mentioned, the theme this term is American music (chosen due to the election) and it is titled 'Home of the Brave - A festival of American Music'. As the Music Director said when he opened the show, that title is now rather apt with the election results from last week!
The first half of the concert had a mixture of spiritual music, music from some Sondheim, Gershwin and Rodgers musicals and was great fun. The second half had more modern music, like Bob Dylan, Paul Simon, Billy Joel - and one talented lad changed his scheduled piece to sing Suzanne by Leonard Cohen as a tribute - it was beautiful and extremely well sung. Bags of talent there, with one boys mastering some tricky Stevie Wonder songs and it finally finished with a quartet singing Sherry by Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons, including perfectly delivered falsetto parts a la Frankie Valli himself.

As I did not go outdoors today we have an indoors shot of those roses I bought last week - it looks like a quick and easy photo but it took me ages as I was faffing with the lighting until I got what I wanted.

And I can kick myself for not taking a photo of the super moon last night, it was so large and clear in a cloudless sky - whereas tonight there is no chance of seeing it in the cloudy sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.