Supermoon

Well it just had to be, didn't it? I hadn't had much hope of seeing the supermoon this evening as it had been cloudy all day. Around sunset, there was a glow in the sky to the northeast. If there was a chance of seeing it, I ought to make the effort.

Basil and I took the van to the top of Hathern Hill, opposite Oakley Grange, where we stood for over an hour in a muddy field. Banks of cloud continued to drift across the sky. I battled with the tripod head that got stuck, and took various photos of the M1, Shepshed, and layers of cloud over Charnwood Forest.

All of a sudden, I realised there was a glow to the northeast, some 45 degrees northeastwards from where I had been looking. I was in luck. Despite cloud drifting over at intervals, the moon shone bright and clear. I took shots at 100mm and 400 mm (560 mm taking into account APS crop factor) using my Fujifilm lens. I have to say that the Canon would probably have been clearer. I do find it difficult these days to determine what's in focus, even wearing glasses.

Basil was a trooper. He simply sat by me throughout the whole adventure. I was getting cold. I don't know how he felt stretched out on the ground. He's eaten a big dinner since we've been back.

Extras are 'one I did earlier' in case I hadn't seen the moon, the garden in Autumn, and of cloud passing over the face of the moon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.