Teeny Saint

Last year MrQ saved some seeds from delicious baby plum tomatoes that I bought in M&S. They're called Santini and I believe that they are exclusive to Marks and Spencer and grown for them on a nursery in The Wirral. The seeds germinated really well and we have been enjoying the fruit all summer. The name means little saint.

When I found the above little saint I was delighted and immediately thought of my granddaughter. When she was a tiny girl she surprised us by calling cloves 'babies.' When she was a bit older she and I spent ages painting a stone she had found to look like baby Jesus in his swaddling clothes. I know that she would love my little saint. :)

MrQ's produce is coming to an end. We had what will probably be the last of his scarlet runners for dinner. The delicate skins of his beef tomatoes don't stand up well in the cold and damp, we'll miss those. The ordinary tomatoes will last a little longer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.