Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Autumn burning

Tonight the Christmas lights are being turned on in Winchester and I toyed with the idea of going down to take pictures.  Trouble is, this particular festivity isn't about Christmas, it's about shopping (bah, humbug!)  And besides, I'm not sure I'm ready quite yet to let go of the lovely autumn.

The wildlife trust's volunteers have been doing some burning in the nature reserve.  This morning through my kitchen window I saw the smoke drifting across the valley.  I remember when farmers used to burn stubble in the cornfields.  I always hated that, it seemed so destructive.  But now I begin to wonder if it wasn't more ecologically sound than poisoning the earth.

Anyway, I walked that way into town and got some shots (there's a second in Extras).  It's always rather fun when images turn into illustrations for a story you haven't read.  This guy looks like he's taking part in some ritual.  In Extras the woman is disappearing into the smoke while the two men secretly confer. 

Besides, what could be more autumnal that bonfires?

A wonderful afternoon spent with friends.  And now I'm wishing you all a good evening whatever you're doing - and thanks, as always, for looking at my journal  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.