usp

By usp

postcard: Castle of Mey
poem: Rose Ausländer - Noch bist du da

Wirf deine Angst
in die Luft

Bald
ist deine Zeit um
bald
wächst der Himmel
unter dem Gras
fallen deine Träume
ins Nirgends

Noch
duftet die Nelke
singt die Drossel
noch darfst du lieben
Worte verschenken
noch bist du da

Sei was du bist
Gib was du hast

Today's poem initially sounds a bit gloomy (along the lines of "you're here still, but not for much longer"), but it ends on a very energizing note: Be what you are / Give what you have. An English translation can be found here.

I still have a few postcards left that feature Queen Mum, but I only have one friend I know of who truly loves her. Today's postcard went to my sister-in-law though. I'm sure she'll like it (and hopefully the poem), too.


NaPoWriMo - my version of it; sending a postcard-poem each day of November. Here is the how.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.