An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Tile-gate!

As I mentioned on yesterday's blip, there was a major whoops moment regarding the kitchen that had me in a cold sweat.

After long debate about what kind of tiles should go on the wall behind the Aga, we finally found the tile of our dreams and after checking the supplier has it in stock, I contacted Helen, the kitchen designer, to ask the size of the area to be tiled so we could work out the cost.   Her email response made my jaw drop.  She said...

 "I had a look on line and really like what you have chosen.  I don't know if you recall but previously with us you had chosen a grey mirror to go behind the AGA."

Now, never in a month of Sundays did we choose grey mirror to go behind the cooker.  A.  I would spend my life cleaning it and B. The last thing I want to see when I am cooking is my reflection.  And even if we had considered it, I would have requested a sample before making any final decisions.

Thankfully Helen has reassured me that it won't be a problem cancelling the mirror and has offered a choice of ways to resolve the situation; a reduction in the final payment to the value of the mirror, kitchen accessories or a home Aga demonstration.  So that's all good.  But what gave me heart palpitations is the kitchen is being fitted next week and had we not found our dream tile when we did, (we talked about waiting till the kitchen was fitted before deciding on tiles) the kitchen would have gone in next week with the grey mirror.   

Still, all's well that ends well (although now I am fretting that the kitchen has been painted the wrong colour!!!)   I am looking forward to Monday and dreading it in equal measure.

In other news, David is off the the Lake District till Sunday on his annual eating, drinking and being merry fell walking trip with the lads.  Ed is here overnight to look after Alan.  That will give the neighbours something to talk about!  :-))  Ele is coming up tomorrow and staying till Sunday so I expect we will be ladies who lunch.

GP called to say Alan's blood test result indicates he is having a colitis flare up.  Gastro nurse is phoning me at 11am tomorrow to hopefully discuss medication.  

And now I better get to bed.  I'm up extra early as I'm on duty to let the builders in.  Hoping by this time tomorrow I will have heating and hot water downstairs.  Oh the luxury! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.