Beady eye

A notice has been distributed around the building, 'warning' us that a homeless person has been gaining entry and sleeping in a communal area. We've been 'reassured' that the police have been notified. My reaction is sadness that this is by default a police matter as it reduces the chances this person can just spend a night away from the increasingly colder air.

If I come across him or her in the corridor I won't report it if it's clear that all that's being sought is a warm place to lie. I would hope that providing that is within the sphere of acceptance of most residents of the building. I'll leave the person sleeping and aim to deposit a sandwich next to them.

This has helped me strike upon a campaign idea: if apartment blocks agreed to allow a quota of a city's homeless people to use communal areas at nighttime, with residents donating unused bedding and a set of rules being adhered to, it could contribute to the Big Society that the Tories are intent on developing to replace actual state functions. As long as it's not seen as too 'hippy commune' I reckon there would be some residents groups who wanted to be charitable in this way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.