Lyth Hill

A day of mostly catching up with people; relatives and friends and talking, talking, talking. It started off differently with a lovely walk up and along Lyth Hill near Annscroft where we are staying.

In the afternoon we travelled to our ancestral seat at Aston Eyre near Bridgnorth to see Margaret, a second cousin and her husband Lawrence. I assume she is my second cousin as she is really my Dad's cousin as their fathers were brothers. Margaret and her family are the only other relatives on my Dad's side and we hadn't seen them since his funeral in 2010. Very nice to catch up with them and reaffirm some family stories and history which is half forgotten about. Given me some new leads to follow to research the family tree.

A quick bite to eat in Wellington before going to the Old Orleton pub very near where my parents lived for all their adult lives. For most of my life it was a farmhouse but it had been a 17th coaching Inn before reverting to a pub some 30 years ago.

I'd arranged to meet an old friend from school, Maurice, who I hadn't seen for nearly 40 years. There was a considerable amount of ground to cover as can be imagined and I doubt if we covered even 5% in a couple of hours.

Both events were very pleasant and enjoyable but Im sure Susan found all the reminiscing a touch hard to take especially as the evening wore on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.