ciorstain

By ciorstain

The optician

This morning I got up quite refreshed. Neil had to leave at 11 am for the airport. While he packed I prepared some food for him to take on the flights. Airline food is awful!
Once he was gone I had breakfast myself and did a few things. I intended to go for a walk at 2 pm and then go directly for my eye test.
Well, it was raining dogs and cats at 2pm and I wondered if I really have to go out now.
Half an hour later it looked as if the rain had stopped and I got dressed up warm, grabbed hat, bag and camera and went down stairs.
When I opened the door I realised it was still pi**ing with rain! Badly!
Since I was now there I stowed my camera in the bag and went out. I was a very wet walk. Not really pleasant. After 45 minutes the rain stopped finally and some light appeared in the sky. Out the camera came to do at least a few shots.
I arrived in time at the optician and went through the full eye test. Near sight has decreased a bit more .... but distance still the same.
Reason enough for a new set of glasses and then the fun started.
Jim and Heather helped and I tried a lot of spectacles. Since my current two sets are quite statements, I needed something that could stand up to them but was totally different ... 
In the end I went for an iconic pair of Oliver Goldsmith glasses. Exactly those that Michael Caine wore here. And they were not the most expensive I was looking at .....
After having chosen the glasses I went down to Avenue Coffee at Byres Road to get some of their lovely decaf coffee beans, had a coffee too and set off to get home.
Today will be a same day blip. The rest of the evening will be on the couch starting my new knitting project and watch some DVD.

Blip is Jim - my optician and neighbour.
Extra - my new glasses - they will be ready next week :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.