Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A celebration

The concert at school last night was amazing. I never knew quite what a starring role Thomas would have, in both Fanfare for the Common Man and An American in Paris where he had many trumpet solos, and I had a proud mummy moment when at the end of the concert the conductor singled him out for applause, which is unusual in a symphony concert performance. I was very pleased that Adam and Molly made it to the concert - especially good for Adam to see this particular concert where Thomas did well.

I mentioned that today was a challenging day – for some reason Thomas’ rugby match today was at a school nearly 55 miles away, and tonight I had to be at school by 6.30pm for the much anticipated 25th anniversary celebrations of the parents’ arts society, which also coincides with our chairman’s retirement from the society. I knew I could not get back from rugby and get to the anniversary dinner in time, so I was worrying about what to do. In the end, I did not go to the rugby (yes, no rugby photos this week!) and Adam gave up his afternoon of work to go support and fetch Thomas. I had left by the time they got back, but I had a dinner waiting for them, followed by tickets to see Fantastic Beasts (which I also wish I was seeing). I had to get the event so early as I been asked to be the official photographer for the evening - something which I was actually dreading, as it's not really my thing to be an event photographer.

Of course the evening was cold with rain, and moving from the gallery where we had pre-dinner drinks (image thereof) to the school dining hall where we were to have our supper was not pleasant, with the wind whipping up our hair and umbrellas blowing inside out. I am not comfortable with flash photography so I hope I have got some decent photos from the event. It was a long evening with many speeches and some entertainment, and serving dinner to about 220 guests takes time, By the time I left after midnight, Storm Angus was battering my route home making it a difficult journey back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.