Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Lake District - Day Four

During the photography workshop week in the Lake District, John carefully analyses all the weather forecasts and then we plan where we are going to go for the day. Today we decided to head east as the weather looked best there, but it turned out to be not as we expected. We went to Brothers Water and it was not as bright as we expected. We had very fast and fleeting bands of sunlight sweeping through the mostly shadowed landscape, and if you hesitated the light was gone in a matter of seconds, so it made the shooting quite tricky today.

We walked around the entire lake (it is a small one) and even managed to stop for tea/beers at a pub halfway around. This was taken at the end of the day in a short break between rain. The extras were taken in those fleeting moments of good light.

By the time we drove home it was raining very heavily and there was even hail. The weekend looks colder with snow forecast for Saturday!

I am off home tomorrow, I am leaving a day early as I need to get back to attend an important concert in which Thomas is playing tomorrow night. It has been a fabulous week in the company of some great people, all blippers, and as usual I learnt so much from John and have thoroughly enjoyed Gail's delicious meals.

I have had no time to look at journals or comment, please bare with me, I will have a look at them when I get home again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.