My Hero


Another blip of MrsCyclops, to go with my back blip from yesterday. This was taken at a mince-pie and mulled wine extravaganza hosted by 42 and Mrs42 - thank you for having us! Blippers 77 and bri also made it along - it was good to see everyone!

The thing about my trip to the US for 7 months next year is that MrsCyclops is the real hero of the piece. I don't know how she copes. For me there's lots of exciting stuff happening, people congratulate me and wish me luck all the time, and I'm having a leaving party. But she doesn't get congratulated or get a party for her role...

She has encouraged and supported me from the first time this idea came up. She is staying home and paying the mortgage and looking after the cat while I go off gallivanting. She is having "life without me" while I have lots of exciting things to keep me busy and keep my mind off how much I will miss her...

As for the fellowship, she is every bit as desrving of it as me. If anything, her job is more high-powered than the one I have just left and she needs a broader range of skills to perform it. I am so proud of her and her career, but she's stuck listening to everyone talking about me... It's just not fair.

I don't know how I'll ever express my gratitude to her properly, but I thought I should at least try...




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.