Climbing

Busy day today!
It started early with a trip to the radiotherapy department with my dad. He's only got four more sessions after today which is fantastic.
I resisted the sausage rolls and cake from the cafe and just had an enormous cup of tea. And when my dad was finished I went to their house and had more tea.
I may be a bit addicted to tea!!!
Then it was home to sit around feeling knackered. 
Archie likes to start the day early. At about 5am which is a bit rubbish!
He started off waking up at about 6am which we thought was a bit rubbish and now he's taken it to new lows - yapping and howling at 5am!!
Annoyingly he doesn't need to go out to the toilet and just curls up on the sofa and goes straight back to sleep. Grrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!
I've threatened him with Battersea Dog's Home but I don't think he thinks I'm serious!!
We picked up the Little Misses and headed to Miss E's rock climbing for a climbing competition. There were hundreds of Under 18s entering in all different age brackets - Miss E was with girls born in 2007/2008 - for three roped climbs and three bouldering routes.
Things didn't get off to the best start when she fell off the first route just after she started - hardly a foot off the ground. That's it, you get points for each hold you make and no second chances. We were watching her from up in the gallery and were dreading the angry, shouty defensive behaviour that usually accompanies any kind of failure.
We needn't have worried! She was smiling and just said it was a shame she hadn't got very far up.
And she was giddy to get on to the next climb. 
And made it all the way up to the top for maximum points. Woohoo!!!
The third climb (bottom right) was another disaster! She couldn't reach the first hold - despite jumping and jumping at it like a bouncy puppy!! I assumed they'd let her attempt another route but, no, that was it. The route's the route and if you can't start it you can't start it!!!!
Again braced for indignant angry tears and crossness we were met with a smile and a shrug and reassurances for us that it was fine!!
I was so so so so so proud of her handling it all so well.
She's never done bouldering so I wasn't sure how she'd get on. The first route (top) was difficult for her but she refused to give up and kept trying and trying until she made it to the top. It was agonising watching her so close to the top but just a fingertip away from the hold. I was stretching myself, willing her to be able to stretch a teeny bit more.
She made it!!!!
And I may have whooped!!!
The other two routes were difficult and she was clearly a bit too short to reach all the holds. But she persevered and kept trying and trying until she fell off. She just wouldn't give up!!!
I don't think I've ever been more proud of her. She enjoyed it so much and didn't care at all about the points she got. Fantastic!!
By the time we got home Archie had been left for three hours and I was a bit worried about him but he was fine. Just sat by the door waiting for us - no damage, no mess, no mad hysteria. Yay!!!!
Now if he can just sleep a bit longer tonight that will be marvellous!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.