Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Storm Angus

We are still feeling the effects of Storm Angus here in Surrey. It has been raining hard for most of the day, and the river that runs through the village has burst its banks and is lapping on to the High Street (a common occurrence every winter) - it is also rather blustery out there. By sheer luck I avoided the rain when I went out today - firstly this morning for my dog walk, it was dry the whole time, but no sooner had I got home then the rain came lashing down. This afternoon I had to go get new tyres put on the car (ouch!) and it had stopped raining by then and there were actually blue patches in the sky.

This is an autumnal puddle! With colour provided by the fallen leaves and the reflection of the nearby beech tree.

I have been busy tracking Gavin and the crew on the ARC website. He sent an email to say the winds are very light and at this rate it will take 36 days instead of the expected 15-20! I hope not...but the forecast is for stronger winds in the next few days.

Today the hospice nurses came to start my mum on morphine as her pain levels are now intolerable. A huge virtual hug to my sister who has spent the last few days watching my mother declining and in this awful situation :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.