Power Restored

What a night!

This is one of the engineers that came out last night and then again this morning when we lost our electricity supply around 8pm. We thought it was an island wide cut, until I found out from my sister and a friend via texts that it was just in this area. I looked out the upstairs windows and realised it was even more local as the neighbours next door and down the road still had their lights on. Very strange indeed!

Our landlords who live just next door were okay, but their son and his family who lives opposite them was in the same predicament as us. The JEC (Jersey Electricity Co) were called out but it was wet and wild by the time they got here (11pm and we were in bed) that it was far too dangerous to fix anything.

I was woken up by a text at 7.30am from my lovely landlords offering me extensions leads and power from their place, for the fridge-freezer and more importantly a cup of tea.

The JEC guys turned up around 8.30 and were gone by 11.30. They  replaced the  short overhead cable that had perished from the salt water getting in during all the bad weather and restored power and heat to us.
The were super chaps, very professional and I imagine very tired after all the call outs they've had since the weekend.

I was going to join in with TinyTuesday but I'm so tired that I can't be bothered to faff around with macro at the mo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.