The Firies!!

This is not a scene we want to see repeated anytime soon.  It's been an extremely stressful and emotional day at Wombat Hollow!!  We alerted by our lovely new neighbour Suzanne mid morning that there was a fire at Mt Blackheath which is about 5 km's from our property.  I immediately rang our Rural Fire Service Captain Jim and he confirmed the fire but that the wind was blowing in a Westerly direction and we would be safe for the moment.  

Events like these really bring up all sorts of emotions and at one stage I was at home alone after dropping CCN into her yoga class.  Honestly, I'm usually a cool customer, but this time I found myself running around wondering what I should do next.  What should I really take with me in the car in case the worst happens and the wind changes direction.  Then I got the call from our wonderful friend James (Gilbert's Dad) - James had been fighting the fire and he rang to say they were being stood down and it all looked good and things were under control.  Hallelujah!!  Feeling a lot happier I headed into town to collect CCN and we drove home only to be blocked by the police from proceeding past the Mt Blackheath junction.  WHAT THE!!!   So back into town we trundled to try and settle down and have a coffee or SOMETHING!!  

Another phone call from James and we were home free!!  Truly, it really messes with your head, but at the same time we just have to respect the police and "firies" because they have to deal with a lot of different scenarios.  It's all quiet on the western front at the moment and the helicopters have stopped the water bombing.  It looks like we're going to have a peaceful night, Fingers Crossed blip buddies!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.