Having a Nice Day, Not

"Have a nice day" His Lordship wished me as he swung his rucksack on to his back and headed out in the sunshine to the hills to recharge his batteries. Fat chance thought I as I headed off into town to buy the ingredients to make a nut roast for his vegetarian Christmas dinner and which will tick one of the boxes for the festive period.

I should have been wary when I found the recipe needed 18 ingredients many of which were not lurking on any cupboard shelves in the Dower House. My blip shows the basic mix with 13 ingredients cooling to allow the addition of beaten eggs breadcrumbs, grated cheese and parsley. It is out of the oven as I type and looks OK, but I will still prefer my turkey and all the trimmings.

As I chopped and stirred and grumbled, Daughter #1 phoned and while sympathising with me, told me I could buy a nut roast from Waitrose or buy a mix from Holland and Barrett which only requires the addition of water and gets 5*s. Too late, too late, but next year, that'll be the way to go.

There was time for a some fallen leaf sweeping up on the patio and then much cutting and sticking of Christmas cards before HL phoned to say he was at the bus stop in Lamington, and would be home in an hour and a half. Were I a 1940's housewife, I would be removing my pinny, changing my clothes, applying some seductive lippy and putting on my welcome home face. However I'm not, but I will try to feign a smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.