The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

The Old Forge (Tuesday 22th November 2016)

I did take a picture of Smokey yesterday but I couldn't post four in a row. It was another day at home railling against the rain until the evening when I was forced to drive to the shops, but I did venture outside into the garden in the morning to capture these iris seeds that I have blipped before. This iris (Iris foetidissima) is one of two native to Britain and has several names, including Roast-beef Plant or Stinking Iris because when brushed its leaves have a beefy smell.

I'm now a day behind again because I'd hoped to capture something else later on and when I hadn't there was no longer time to post.

L.
23.11.2016 (1807 hr)

Blip #1977 (#2227 including 250 archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #015
Day #2434 (459 gaps from 26 March 2010)
LOTD #1212 (#1338 including 126 on archived blips)

Taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ60 compact

Iris series
Gardens series
Flora series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Drifters - Please Stay (recorded 1 February 1961, New York NY)
I knew this song in the sixties by the version produced by Joe Meek for the Cryin' Shames, but had no idea it who had recorded it first until I came across the original version by the Drifters just a few years ago. It was the follow-up single to Some Kind Of Wonderful and preceded Sweets For My Sweet - all three hits were recorded on the same day.
Please Stay is an early hit of The Drifters featuring the new lead singer Rudy Lewis, who replaced Ben E. King. It is one of songwriter Burt Bacharach's early pop hits, featuring Dionne Warwick's sister Dee Dee Warwick and Doris Troy on background vocals. The musicians who backed the Drifters on this record include George Barnes and Allan Hanlon on guitar, Abie Baker on bass, Bobby Rosengarden and Ray Kessler on percussion and Ed Shaughnessey and Gary Chester on drums.
The song was covered by The Cryin' Shames (1966, UK #26), Lulu (Melody Fair album, 1970), The Bay City Rollers (1974), Jonathan Butler (1975, SA #2) ,Elvis Costello on Kojak Variety (1995), Marc Almond (2001) and Zoot Money, who also changed the lyrics. -
Wikipedia

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.