The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

What to read on a duvet day?

I went to work as usual, but came home via the slow queue at the Nationwide and the even slower 8b bus. Not that I'm complaining, the driver gets eleven out of ten for customer service. If I knew his name, I'd put him.up for an award....

I was feeling pretty rough by then, so I went to bed with a few books and the laptop, only getting up to make a call and sell an advent calendar. Having finished the boarding school book Terms and Conditions, in which only St Leonard's and Oxenfoord Castle school are mentioned as examples of  Scottish schools, I was at a loss as to what to read next.

I want another spy novel of high calibre, but being physically assailed by fatigue and stabbing chest pain of the chest-infection type, I settled for a couple of short stories for children from a Joan Aiken collection (a necklace of raindrops), a Road Dahl classic story ( the Landlady) and the vintage Thirkell, Christmas at High Rising stories. Nothing much ever happens, but the cover is a treat!

Oh, and Steve and The Vicious Cat from a few door down had a fight, but no one won. We hope our Bomble isn't injured. The vicious red cat has been terrorising the 'hood for years, attacking adult humans as well as other cats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.