dreaming

By dreaming

A happy Thanksgiving

Well, I am home at last from our very long celebration, and have just discovered that none of my photos have come out too well.  The light and focus are off in every one.  But with a lot of editing, I was able to salvage this image of the table setting.  This was my mother's china, and it remains the most beautiful china I've ever seen.  Notice the turkey salt and pepper shakers hiding behind the glasses.  We had all of the usual foods, plus a delicious corn pudding made my my niece Sarah and salmon brought by the cousin who is sort of a vegetarian.  Sarah's dog Charlie, not thrilled to be in his new sweater (see Extra) made his presence known during all the preparation, but behaved himself very well once the meal had started.  After dinner we played the game Catch Phrase, which turned hilarious when we discovered that most of us in the senior generation needed glasses to see the words in the game tool.  Fortunately, my sister has a large trove of reading glasses in different strengths, so each of us was able to find a pair that would work.  My own reading glasses were tucked away at home in the satchel that I take to tutoring.

It was the first time I'd seen niece Manda and Andrew since their engagement, and it was wonderful to see them so happy.  They are having to move fast to find a venue for the wedding, as places book up many months in advance and they hope to wed in August or early September.  I've included a mono shot of the two them as an Extra.

So it was a delightful occasion, and the washing up did not fall on me.  I helped clean up and put away leftovers, and got a few to bring home for myself.  Although the power went out very briefly, the heavy rain and wind did not otherwise affect us - something else to be thankful for.

I hope all of you had a lovely day and will enjoy the holiday weekend.  Be careful out there on Black Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.