Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A visit to town

Archie and I are are well pleased with our treats today.

Elizabeth came bearing a gift for Archie in the form of a doggie Advent Calendar. Yes, every day he (we) can open up a wee door and find a wee doggie bone. He loved it. In fact, when he came back from his walk, it was sitting up on the wood burner (which wasn't on) and he sat and gazed up at it, giving odd little plaintive whimpers. Elizabeth relented and gave him the December 1st treat. Today they went on another huge walk, and a bus trip with no barking. But there were a couple of 'yips', which are acceptable... just.

We I decided to go down town and have a wee look in the Apple Shop. Just for a look at, and probably a fondle of, the (rose gold) iPhone 7.

The hire purchase, with 0% interest was very tempting, and if I don't like the size (I got the big whopper) I can change it. They were offering me quite a good price for my old phone. I was swithering...

Then a wee voice behind me said 'Get it!'

It was JR. She has been listening to my switherings for months. A charming young man made the process quite painless, and soon we were waiting for my data to whizz down from 'the cloud'. Isn't technology wonderful!

We then walked to St Andrews Square, which at 4pm on a Saturday near Christmas, with two walking sticks and two sore knees, and thousands of people, may not have been the best idea. We were in desperate need of a sit down and a little glass of something, but every eating/drinking establishment (and there are SO many new ones!) was jam-packed. Some of them even had queues out on the pavement!! But we scored two vouchers for breakfast at one new place.

Back home in time for rugby, though I missed the Scotland match. I'm enjoying holding my new phone, and I'll enjoy trying out the new camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.