Another reveller in the sun

At last we had a full day of sunshine today and with time at home to enjoy the warmth. In fact I found it too hot this morning, and very humid as I decided to mow the grass, even though the grass was still very damp and the earth's sward was soft and spongy after so much rain.

Helena took to her hammock and I pottered in and out of the house. When I got round to picking up a camera it was teatime and my first shot was of a young buzzard rising on the thermals out of the valley behind the house and up and away.

Then I saw a rather 'moth-eaten' tortoise-shell butterfly grazing on the pollen of the buddleia next door. I took loads of pictures of it and several others but I was shooting towards the sun and the sloping garden was against me, forcing me to stand below their wings most of the time so the full colours were shrouded.

Suddenly I saw this white butterfly swooping about all round the various shrubs of the gardens. I am always surprised at how fast they can fly and that they manoeuvre so adroitly. They seem to be on the verge of being out of control at times, but I think it is all an act.

When it landed on the buddleia, I could see that it had rather interesting and delicate markings on its wings. I've decided to blip it instead of the far too 'common' tortoise-shells which are all over the place and particularly in blipsville. If anyone knows what it is called, please do let me know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.