A Totnes moment

Our shortish drive from Somerset to Totnes became hindered by a motorway snarl up near Tiverton. I spotted the traffic jam as I started to enter the slipway to the M5 and managed to get off in time. Eventually we managed to get away from the traffic strewn roads in to small country lanes that lead in the old-fashioned way to Exeter, through narrow single track lanes, hollow ways and between immensely high hedges and banks. It turned out to be the sort of journey that is just what I like, except when you are planning to be on a rather faster trip.

Eventually we got to Totnes, and met up with Dave Thurston, my old friend, who had just opened an exhibition of his photography in an old gallery on the High Street. His work is well worth a view, encompassing his many years spent in China and South-east Asia, as well as more recent images. He has also had one of his pictures in this year's Royal Academy Summer Exhibition.

We nipped out for lunch and then while Dave returned to meet and greet visitors to the gallery, Woodpeckers and I went our own ways in search of blips. I spotted this building and noticed the inscription on a small plaque attached to its front:

Here lived Ann Ball, who on 19th July 1586 was married to Sir Thomas Bodley, founder of the Bodleian Library in Oxford

I crossed the street to take a picture for my archive of interesting buildings, when this little boy appeared in my shot in a rather forlorn state, and leaned on this black pillar until his parents walked up the hill and picked him up.

We then drove on about fifteen miles to Modbury, also in the South Hams district of Devon, where I wanted to have a quick look at the town. I wanted to see if I could find out anything about my great grandfather who I've recently found was born there in 1847. We were actually too late for the tourist information centre, but did walk up a few streets that I knew were mentioned in the old censuses. We will return tomorrow.

Tonight we were heading on a further ten miles to stay with some more friends, John and Pru. A large drink and a big meal followed, as we caught up with each other's lives. John and I were in the same form at school in our early teens and have been in contact off and on ever since. So there is always a lot to say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.