Life Is Gay In Whitley Bay!

Which is the title of an old Railway Poster from days gone by, when the word gay meant fun, back in the 50s. Saw the old poster with a modern twist (done in ceramic for a wall) this morning in the weekend market which is held in the Railway Station at Tynemouth.

But this is a backblip, taken yesterday afternoon on the walk along the front to the lighthouse, which can be reached by a causeway when the tide is out.

In this picture is Gail, my oldest friend (not in years!). Way back in the 80s we used to go out on a Saturday night - bottle of wine in her flat in town, put on the same music video each week, and by the last song, which was New York, New York, we would be dancing and singing at the top of our voices!! All ready to hit the town and have some fun:-))

Chris her partner is a Geordie, with a caustic sense of humour, and likes to take the mickey out of the "jocks" accents. And when an iphone app did not understand us three saying murder and purple, amongst others, this made his day.

We had a few drinks later on, singsongs and then my husband made the mistake of introducing Gail to Angry Birds but luckily my Ipad was almost out of juice.... otherwise she would have been on it all night. I remember my first intro to them and was the same.

Mr McDuff tried to persuade us to SIT on the top of this fence for the picture, saying we would not topple over into the water below. OK little thin bar - big asses - Gail and I decided not to bother!

Edit: Hell, I forgot to mention, for the record, that I have been on blip for 2 years yesterday - 18 August - I have not been an everyday blipper as real life gets in the way, which is the way is should be I suppose!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.