Today's Special

By Connections

Lucky Shot...

...one of two today at our farmers' market, and then my camera battery died. I should have charged it last night, but my daughter M came up Friday evening for a 24-hour belated Thanksgiving visit, and I was distracted!

Despite heavy rain, we were off to the farmers' market this morning, and this new product quickly caught my eye. I relished the proffered sample, which was rich in espelette pepper flavor and within my hotness tolerance, and promptly bought two jars. It's a new product from organic Slanted Sun Farm, and I'm delighted that Anna and Jared were the recipients of the 2016 New Farmers Award in September from the Community Food Co-op and Sustainable Connections.

Village Books was our next stop, where we enjoyed looking through the many children's books and choosing six (see extra) to donate to the store's annual Giving Tree, which last year provided books to nearly 1300 local children, distributed through eight local social service agencies. After a fortifying light lunch, we went to Whatcom Museum to see the two current outstanding exhibitions (more details in this blip) in the Lightcatcher Building and also the more than 20 themed, decorated Christmas trees in the Old City Hall building -- I expect that one or two of them will make an appearance here in the next few weeks!

Our belated Thanksgiving dinner -- eclectic vegetarian, with a selection of desserts -- was appreciated by all, and then we took M to catch her bus to Seattle. It won't be long until I see her again, as I'm having a day in Seattle with M and her brother on December 10, which will include a hearty lunch and a stunning choral concert that afternoon -- an early Yule celebration.

Blip 1692

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.