Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Operation Day!

Hello Blipfriends!
Dolly reporting today.

What a day this has been! It started off nice and cosy with Mum on the sofa but it didn't last. By 8:30am we were at the V.E.T.!! Today was the day that I was having a 'Dental' which meant going under anaesthetic and probably having a bunch of teeth removed! This little guy in the top picture was also there for the same thing, and he's only 3! So I wouldn't be alone. I also had my blanket and Lewis the bear with me. Mum was NOT happy about leaving me. I could tell. I got lots of kisses. I think she got a bit choked up!

I was there ALL day! I did really well with being under anaesthetic. I spent the afternoon waking up and recovering. I got lots of attention from everyone there and I had lots to eat! When Mum came to pick me up she was told I had lost several teeth - they all HAD to come out! And I had a small growth on my gums removed. It's been there a long time and they already knew it wasn't malignant. But it was time to go. I had the rest of my teeth and gums cleaned thoroughly. I have 2 stitches as I had 3 teeth in a row removed on one side.

We hope that I am done now with having teeth out but there's no guarantee. But I should feel better now. The vet said it was the right decision. All that decay would NOT have been good with my heart murmur. The good news is that the blood tests show me in almost tip top shape otherwise!! Even the vet said she is amazed by me! 17 may SOUND old to some, but I'm like the energiser bunny! I just keep going! I have work to do! I have to look after my mum!

I even got a mention and pictures posted on the Facebook page of the Vets!! You can see it here.

I was a bit wobbly when Mum came to get me, but I still walked to the car. And when I got home I was able to hop onto the sofa. But not before I ate a whole small tin of food! That was in addition to all that I ate at the vets. Even with losing a bunch of teeth, I'm still happy to eat! The rest of the evening we enjoyed being cosy in front of the fire.

Mum and I are so relieved to be back together. Thanks for your prayers! We're both happy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.