Temptation

We are visiting friends who live just outside Birmingham, where I lived for nearly 13 years until 1980.  They had invited us up so that I could visit some of my old haunts and see how much they had changed.

One event which didn't exist when I lived there but which has, apparently, become a regular fixture is the Frankfurt Christmas Market - claimed to be the largest authentic German Christmas market outside Germany or Austria.  It certainly occupies a large area, and a high proportion of the stalls are, of course, offering food or drink. This couple seem tempted by the Berliner - the traditional German doughnuts.

This evening we went to a concert at the excellent Symphony Hall, built long after I moved away from Birmingham, and only my second visit there. An excellent concert, but  poorly attended, particularly unfortunate as it was in aid of the CBSO Benevolent Fund

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.