Interrupted

Up at the beach house, I followed a quiet and relaxing morning with a long walk around the edge of the receding water at Southend, Snells Beach, as well as around the point to Our Beach. I had hoped to see a few more waders, but they tend to prefer the beginning and end of the day. The white faced heron were moderately plentiful, including a juvenile. 

As I came from the steps down to the beach out onto the sand and stones, I saw two Welcome Swallows do a couple of circles above me, and then land on a branch in a nearby tree. I could see that one had a piece of straw in its beak. (You can see that the other also had something in its beak.) I stayed still, and eventually one flew up, and after a circle entered the concrete tunnel for the stormwater outflow, shown in the extra.

The extra was taken later, as I was ending my walk, and I waited to see if they were still nest building. I saw one go in and continued to wait. Against the concrete in in the extra is a small blue and red blur, the nearest I got to showing the swallow leaving where they have chosen to put their nest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.