Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Framed

Spent the morning helping my wife.  Those in the UK may have seen the article on Countryfile recently about accidents involving horses on the highway.  Well to get onto the Chase, horse and rider have to cross a busy road.  Worse still the route is offset so they have to ride on the road for about 200 metres. if they are in a group they are OK, but my wife has been riding alone recently so I make a point of meeting her at the crossing point for extra safety.  Once I'm there I might as well enjoy a walk at the same time so I can cross her back later.

I decided to walk to the local cafe for a drink.  You normally get some winged wildlife there, looking for scraps from the plates of visitors.  I just liked this little fella posing on the trellis.

The rest of the day so far has been taken up visiting Mom.  She is more aware of her surroundings today; enough to ask me to take her home! Sigh!  Regrettably, much to ill for that and worse still there is an instruction of 'nil by mouth' until they have assessed her throat.  Would be the weekend, though I have been assured that the S.A.L.T. (speech and language therapist, I found out after I asked) was visiting today.  They are worried that food and water is going down her trachea and adding to the complications of pneumonia.  Mom is less than impressed but even helping her to suck on little sponge lollipops and she is choking.

We are due out for our first Christmas do tonight.  I've rarely felt less like going out! I'm sure I will feel better when I get there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.