But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

A Hazy Meadow.

This field, adjacent to The Glen, has had a chequered history; today, even at noon, it looked interesting with the sun burning off the dew while we were exercising the dogs. I walked down there with Hamish, while Herself made the journey with Merlin in the car.

The day had started with a new computer being delivered. Mrs TD's machine started misbehaving a few weeks ago and, since it wasn't worth spending money to have it repaired, I disassembled it myself to see if I could sort it. My efforts only made it worse, if you can make something that isn't working worse. Apart from the major problem, it had the minor issue due to having decided to upgrade itself from Windows 8 to version 10. Herself, like many others, didn't have the knowledge to stop it and the upgrade rightfully received bad reviews in the press for both the problems it created and the manner in which it was implemented; It had also had something disgusting spilt on it making the internal workings of the keyboard a bit "sticky."

Mrs TD was very generous in agreeing to take my old Windows 7 computer while I selected a magic machine for use with Photoshop. Although it is the bearer of the dreaded version 10, it does seem to be o.k, though the double quantum leap does present me with a few challenges to make it do what I want. Overall, I'm rather pleased with it, I don't have time to make a cup of coffee while I wait for it to start up and the screen looks a lot better than the old one. I hope it lasts as long as its predecessor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.