mef13

By mef13

Breakfast Choice

I have always been fond of mushrooms so it's always a treat to have a few to start the day at breakfast.
Of course you cannot beat freshly picked field mushrooms, but the  cultivated shop bought button varieties come a close second. Not only for breakfast.
Sliced in salads, gently fried or grilled  in butter and olive oil perhaps with a dash of garlic, or in an omelette — I really have no preferences.
As a teenager I earned pocket money  helping out on a milk round and I well remember the location of fields where mushrooms were to be found at the appropriate time of year. Then years later we lived opposite a field where they grew in abundance.
And cultivated mushrooms?  Yes. we have grown our own in a tub, I think while living in an apartment, and they were growing in the tub in the bedroom.
My one regret is that I never learned more about the various types of fungi because I would have loved to be able to go foraging and discover the many types of edible mushrooms. On one occasion when I did buy some wild mushrooms in a deli, I recall that a doubtless well-meaning aunt refused to allow me to cook and eat them, because in her view all wild mushrooms were not edible.
But this morning there were no qualms about these.  Yum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.