So what's your problem!!

For the past five days I have been taking up position near the bird baths to try and capture the different little birds that come and visit during "Happy Hour".  It's usually between the hours of 4.30 and 6.30pm and early morning, at least that"s when the mob turns up.  They are mainly the little guys who flit in and out nervously watching to see if there's danger lurking.

Tonight CCN and I had quite a few images in the can and we were just about to pack up the glasses and camera and head inside for dinner.  And then out of nowhere this magnificent Black Cockatoo appeared and swooped down onto the table.  Not a bit concerned about us, even when I stood up to get a better position to shoot from.  I think we both stopped breathing, it was majestic and wonderful to witness the show.  

I am adding an extra which I think is really interesting.  To get water into its beak it put its head on the side and drank the water that way.  It was fascinating to watch.

After we had headed in I hear the Black Cockatoos outside and they were obviously feeding on the old Banksia Cones.  I couldn't believe my eyes.  There must have been at least half a dozen sitting no more than 15 metres away from where I was standing.  They didn't seem phased at all and as the light was really dim it was all I could do to stand in awe and wonder.  And then I heard an incredible crack, it was either a small tree or a large branch crashing to ground.  To my amazement I counted 8 Black Cockatoos all take off together as the sound reverberated through the bush.  Wow what a finale to an incredible experience.  I hope you enjoy the images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.