Waratah Women

Well my journey into the depth of the store room under the stairs over the past three days has paid off big time.  I've found treasures I thought I would never see again.  Don't you just love it when that happens.

These four "Waratah Women" were a very special gift from a woman who had visited Wombat Hollow after the fires went through the property in 2002.  The body of the women are made from the Waratah Pod that is left on the bush once the flower has been through its entire cycle.  I will post an extra of the pods in their natural state tomorrow.  It's just too dark at the moment.  I really love these little characters and I think that my great blip buddy Jolang is going to be working out how she can replicate them when she calls by my journal :-)  Now wouldn't that be something, me show Jolang something she doesn't already know about craft!! 

Many thanks from the Black Cockatoo for sending it to the first page of the Popular Page today.  I just called out a minute ago to let him/her know.  Now that they've found the water I think we can expect to see them most nights over summer.  There were two of them out there having a "Cocktail" a few seconds ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.