Follow the Burdiehouse Burn

This morning Ann went into town to do a bit of Christmas shopping so I had to stay home alone and have snooze time but I didn't mind because Ann said she would take me somewhere new and exciting for my walk this afternoon.


Mmmmmmm.................. sometimes Ann's idea of exciting is a bit different to mine?! We walked as far as the bus stop and jumped on a number 11 bus. Well walking to the number 11 bus stop is no distance at all and not what I'd call 'a new & exciting walk'. I didn't even have time for a poo! But guess where we got off the bus?................... We got off the bus at Burdiehouse and I thought I was just going to get a boring on my lead walk walked through the housing scheme down to the Burdiehouse Burn. Yay! I love splish, splash, sploshing in burns. Years ago Ann taught at Burdiehouse Primary School (which has now been demolished) and back in the 1980s it wasn't exactly the most salubrious area of Edinburgh, but actually it looks quite nice these days.


Anyway it was very cold today and the frost has never melted so I had one little splish, splash, splosh and that was it. Brrrrrrrrrr.................... I was worried that my tummy fur would freeze so after a quick roll around on my back I had to do lots of running. I was in happy, bouncy, full of beans mode. My walk was lovely this afternoon. We followed the Burdiehouse Burn all the way to Liberton. #Lovefindingnewwalks.


Update on the ''Christmas Tree Saga' – No contact from 'well known store' so at 4.30pm Ann phoned them and said:


'Where's my Christmas Tree. Online tracker says it will be despatched from the warehouse in two days. That's what it was saying on Friday. Your website says I can pick it up in store 1-2 days after ordering. I ordered it on Wednesday?'

Davey - (always good to get a name) – 'Has no one phoned you?'

Ann – 'No'.

Davey – 'The online department are having a few issues.'

Ann – 'What kind of issues? Am I going to get my Christmas Tree or not? When I ordered it I was told it would arrive in store within 1-2 days. I ordered it on Wednesday because I wanted it by Saturday and I still don't know when I'm going to get it. Should I cancel it?'

Davey – 'Has no one phoned you?'

Ann – 'NO'.

Davey – 'We are experiencing a high level of on line orders and are advising customers that delivery to store will be within 3-5 days.'

Ann – 'I totally understand that but it has now been 5 days since I ordered it and no one has had any sort of communication with me.'

Davey – 'Has no one phoned you?'

Ann – 'NO NO NO NO NO'

Davey – 'I'll just pop you on hold while I find out where it is. What's your name?'


Ann – (Gives name). 'Do you want the reference number?'

..........Too late the phone has already been put on hold?!! …...............After what seemed like hours...............
'
Hello, how can I help you?

Ann – 'I'm trying to find out where my Christmas Tree is that I ordered online on Wednesday and was told I could pick up in store within 1-2 days? Who are you?

Jenna – 'My name is Jenna. If you give me your first name I'll do a search.

Ann – 'My first name is Ann. Do you not want my reference number?'

Jenna – 'I can do a search by your name first. OK, what's the reference number?

Ann gives her full name and reference number.

Jenna – 'I think I've seen that in the cupboard(???) You should be able to come and pick that up but I'll just double check and call you back. What's your full name and reference number again?'

DUH! How many times do these people want this information? The very lovely Jenna phones Ann back within the hour.

Jenna – 'Hello, I've just spoken to customer services and you will definitely have your Christmas Tree by Thursday.'

Ann – 'THURSDAY??? I ordered it last Wednesday and was told I would have it within 1-2 days'.

Jenna – 'Well it might come in tomorrow. It will be Thursday at the latest.'

So after 23mins & 14 seconds on the phone Ann now needs wine. Seriously though – one cannot have a RANT at the people who have to answer the phones in these places. They're only doing their job under what is obviously very difficult circumstances.

However, I've said it before and I'll say it again..................... First rule of marketing is – 'Under promise and over deliver'??????

#willweevergetourChristmastree???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.