Balerno Kirk

At the time of Mum's funeral, the Minister told us about his bereavement service which he holds once a year for relatives and friends of those who had passed away. And he said it in such a way that I felt very strongly encouraged to attend. So, to bring the curtain down, attend I did.
It was strange to sit there again after so many years' absence; the pews have all gone but there's the cross my Dad made, high on the wall.
And it was good to hear the singing, and there's much to be said for this sort of sharing, which only the churches really do. But on the way back we discussed it all - as of course Mum didn't believe in life after death, and neither do I, so the constant refrain of meeting again in the future yada yadda became quite noisome. I'll not see her again, and that's sad but it's manageable without inventing a God, for me at least, as it was for my Mum. I think the Jesus thing is pretty ok though, just to be clear. Right, that's enough Holloway for yis, time for another episode of the Bridge Series 3; great nonsense but Saga's character is getting a bit crackers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.