Fortified

Morning hurried breakfast and dash to airport. But all went well 5:40 hours door to door to Worthing via Stanstead airport and then J got on his bike for a shake down on the Sussex Downs. I went home, walked the dogs and then hit the sofa for a few hours.

It has been an amazingly good 48 hours and I have thoroughly enjoyed it, and very thankful as always to Angie for making it possible. I get the impression that Laura & J enjoyed it too - well the bits between sitting in the car with me driving. My re-enactment of Paddy Hopkirk doing handbrake turns on wet and shiny alpine hairpins at -6°C were not appreciated.

For me personally it was a great enrichment as in the daily grind of routine (routine is the strongest glue ever invented) I simply don't get out and about much. I think the last time I went to a Christmas Market must be 20+ years ago! I have never, and we didn't manage it this weekend either, been to the local Ottobeuren Christmas Market in the 15 odd Decembers we have lived here. It is a bit hard to show how much I truly enjoyed it when I didn't drink a single Glühwein or beer, nor eat a single Bratwurst but that is a simple matter of personal necessities and wanting to keep my driving licence. I get my joy being around others having fun, particularly "children", whatever their age.

And that leads me to the "regrets" - not having my daughter Kate and family over as well. I suspect there would have been large eyes and loads of smiles from the grandchildren. However one has to be realistic, it's term time and the hectic pace of the last 48 hours was not one suitable for young families. Perhaps one day we can organise something similar and on the upside, I was sent a copy of the flight booking for Easter.

Perhaps thanks to being 100% sober, I reflected a lot during the 2 days and managed to do some messaging of photos with my one time colleague, Nogbad, of the sites of our 26 year old haunts in Munich and the southern parts around Oberammergau and Füssen. Made me smile. Also reflected on those who won't be having such a merry Christmas this year and hope they can have a relatively peaceful, if tearful time.

Thank you Angie, Laura and J for having made my Christmas. Your visit fortified me just as the Marmite you brought with you did. I don't think I have ever owned a jar and have left Angie the pleasure of opening it on Christmas Day. She keeps asking me what it is - I say it will enrich her life. Anything in Germany with Vitamin B is considered good - the Germans use the expression "Vitamin B" to mean having good connections. The B from the word Beziehung. She will no doubt love it.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.