Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Blipping well how I feel!

Oh lawks, I did feel rough today!  The concert went well last night (thanks for all your good wishes) but my back majorly collapsed.  Too much standing - even with a sneaky chair at the back of the choir - and that has lived with me today.  Oh well, I'm sure it won't tomorrow..

Anyway, in need of a blip and extra painkillers I bused into town and afterwards went to the cathedral.  I thought it was likely to be the emptiest - and driest - place in the city centre but Pilgrims School (junior boys) were rehearsing for their Christmas concert.  They supply the cathedral with its boy choristers so well worth a listen.  It reminded me of just how many people sing in Winchester.  The number of Christmas concerts happening round here right now is salutary.

Afterwards I went into the Choir (see Extras) in search of a misericord.  I've had an idea it might be fun to blip some of the extraordinary faces carved on them.

I may do others over the winter when the light outside is rubbish.  For this one I was crawling about in the choir stalls thinking no-one would see me.  Imagine the surprise of a large group of tourists as I emerged.  Only a blipper, huh?

Enjoy your evening  xx

PS:  A misericord  is a small wooden structure formed on the underside of a folding seat in a church which, when the seat is folded up, is intended to act as a shelf to support a person in a partially standing position during long periods of prayer. Wikipedia

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.