A Lady of Letters And Stories

Patricia Routledge visited LC today to celebrate the launch of our Beatrix Potter themed Christmas. Schools had been invited to enter a draw and the winner, Flora Gardens from London came to listen to her read the story of Mr Todd, in the Library. It was a special day.

Patricia Routledge is most known for her portrayal of Hyacinth Bucket (Bouquet) in the sitcom Keeping Up Appearances. My personal favourite of hers was her solo performance in the Alan Bennet Talking Heads series when she played A Lady of Letters.

Today, aged 87, she read and spoke so beautifully I could have sat and listened all day, even though Beatrix Potter is not one of my favourite authors. She has an amazing voice.

It did mean a manically busy day and I didn't get anything to eat until the second school had left around 3pm when I ate the yoghurt that should have been breakfast. So, I persuaded Mr L ( that's a fib, he didn't need persuading at all) that we should try the Turkish restaurant we had seen advertised in Hythe. Very delicious it was too!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.